HSS Chateaubriand Fellowship: 2017 Fellows Named

The Cultural Services of the Embassy of France are pleased to announce the laureates of the 2017-2018 HSS Chateaubriand Fellowship. This year’s 19 laureates will spend 2 to 8 months in France performing research with their French partners.

Last name First name US University French Host Institution Field of Study
Bonasio Giulia Columbia University Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne Philosophy
Carnaghi Benedetta luciana sara Cornell University Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne History
Donovan Bremen University of Virginia École Normale Supérieure (ENS-Ulm) Anthropology
Fawell Charles University of Chicago Université du Havre History
Fedo Amelia New York University GSAS Université de Grenoble-Alpes Literature
Griffiths Joshua University of Texas at Austin Université Paris-Ouest-Nanterre-la-Défense Linguistics
Hu Zhuqing University of Chicago Université François-Rabelais de Tours Musicology
Jon Ihnji University of Washington École Normale Supérieure Geography
Kang Sukhwan Georgetown University Unversité de Franche-Comté History
Linares Emily University of California, Berkeley Université de Montpellier III, Paul Valéry Anthropology
Lollar Jacob Florida State University Le Centre national de la recherche scientifique Religion/Theology
Mulder Nicholas Columbia University Sciences Po Paris History
Paré-morin Tristan University of Pennsylvania Université Paris-Sorbonne Musicology
Patana Pauliina Cornell University L’Institut d’études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po) Political Science
Quarshie Nana osei University of Michigan Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme - Collège d’études mondiales History
Sahin Elvan New York University L’Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales History
Sepulvado Brandon University of Notre Dame Université de Paris-Sorbonne/CNRS Sociology
Shukla Saraswathi UC Berkeley Université de Toulouse Jean Jaurès Musicology
Waxman Rachel Johns Hopkins University Université de Lyon History

Call 2021-2022

The 2021-2022 call for applications is now close. The deadline to apply was January 13, 2021.